Rural Ramblings of a Modern Woman

Sharing how I merge rural life with modern society…on a budget!

An affordable summer treat

on June 6, 2013

There’s one thing that always makes me think of summer – rhubarb. So many of us grow it in the back yard and if you don’t, like me, you can often get some from a friend or very inexpensively from the local farmers’ market.

This morning I chopped up the bag of rhubarb that my dad gave me about a week ago now. Did I mention how busy I have been lately?

20130606-113551.jpg
It looks so innocent with the cover on, doesn’t it? I barely got it all in!

20130606-113709.jpg
I had more than enough to fill my pot!

The only cost for this delicious pot of stewed rhubarb is the sugar needed to make it tasty. Get a bag when it is on sale and you can enjoy a true summer treat for only pennies a bowl!

Leave a Reply

